current
older
profile

2003-04-08 | 5:53 p.m.
_

Buggers and Piggies

I went to the library today, wearing long underwear and legwarmers over my pants. Everytime we descend the steps to the library, we have to prep with at least a few, "shh, careful"s and giggles before we can be prepared to keep our loud mouths shut. There's something about spending all your time alone in the house with one other person that makes you forget what social etiquette and "indoor voices" are. Here is my list, and again I'm not explaining why, but if you want to know real bad you'll ask. Thanks for caring.

Books:

Calculus with Analytical Geometry

Calculus, the easy way

10 Real SATs

Real SAT II: Subject Tests

Keirkegaard

Teach Yourself meditation

Videos:

8 1/2

Haiku Tunnel

Deconstructing Harry

X-Men

- - - - - -

On another note, I returned Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. Both read for the second time, but this time in succession. They are parallel novels. Ender's Game is told from Ender's perspective and Ender's Shadow is told from Bean's perspective.(disclaimer: If you haven't read both books and plan on it, stop reading here) When I frist read Ender's Shadow, I couldn't help but feel betrayed by Ender and (yet again) the Command School teachers for treating Bean as a danger because he was too smart. (I didn't the 2nd time around) And the whole justification for Bean not being the main commander was because they, and he, believed that he couldn't foster the feirce love and loyalty that Ender could was a cop out, but I realize that it was necessary in order to justify writing Ender's Shadow. I mean, if Bean was better than Ender in every way, why would there be a whole series based on Ender Wiggin? And the whole inner struggle of Ender killing the Buggers just as he had begun to love them makes for a great tortured character. Bean was too practical to be tortured. I've been having crazy science fiction dreams.

Read them if you haven't, or I'll beat your ass silly. At 5H6, I remeber everyone being assigned what character they would be. And I wanted to be Ender, but now I want to be Bean, even if he will die young.


last entry | next entry

The WeatherPixie
Book of Guest

e-mail
notes
Rings and Links




host