current
older
profile

2003-02-27 | 5:32 p.m.
_

My mind is playing tricks on me

Last night, Kelly went out and I was home alone. I watched a bunch of late night shows. Mostly Comedey Central cartoons. Then Comedy Central went to infomercial (yeah it was that late) and I had to watch channel 2. There was a documentary about these men who in 1914, planned on sailing to Antarctica. They got stuck in pack ice and their ship was sunk. They then lived on the ice, then lost their rescue boats, finally got them back, sailed over winter seas in 22 foot recuse boats to elephant island, reinforced one of the little boats and sent 10 or so men, icluding Captian Shackleton, on an 800 mile trip over the stormy South Sea to South Georgia to the whaling village to get help, they landed on the wrong side of the island and had to climb over 50 miles of glaciers and mountains, then then they finally got to the whaling village, it took three expeditions to Elephant Island to finally rescue the stranded men.

This whole time, no one died. No one starved. From the time they were shipwrecked to the time the men got rescued was 7 months. I don't think anyone of the present day would have the mettle to survive that ordeal.

Then I went to bed. I had not realized that the heat was up to 72, and with my door closed, I think the room was very hot. I woke up about an hour later, very feverish and I opened my eyes and looked over at my desk. There, in silhouette were two of me, one crouched on the seat of my chair and one standing behind her. I stood up and screamed "Hey! HEY!" and then I got freaked out and ran out of my room. I laid on the couch until the sun came up and then I went to bed. Finally, after two nights without sleep.


last entry | next entry

The WeatherPixie
Book of Guest

e-mail
notes
Rings and Links




host